Au Revoir

After four weeks of “school” in Toulouse with some really great new friends, another four weeks in Moncaup with my phenomenal host family, and two weeks in Italy…I’m finally headed back to the U.S. 

Writing this in London’s airport during my six hour layover, I have plenty of time to reflect on my experiences while being in Europe….

1. I love France, more than I was expecting too when I initially decided to come here. It’s amazing how a place so far away from home can feel like a second home. 

2. French is really really really difficult to learn. I have so much respect for those who attempt to speak it.

3. Eating is equivalent to a sacred ritual…and it’s great. 

4. Stereotypes aren’t always true…

5. The world is a huge and small place all at once 

6. Most importantly, I’ve met so many wonderful people from all around the world. (And some not so wonderful people too) 

I’m sure there’s more but I’m not feeling very poetic…

Things I’ll miss: 

  • Garden fresh tomatoes 
  • Wine with every meal 
  • Kissing on the cheek to greet people 
  • The metros 
  • Not having to tip 
  • Cheese courses 
  • Layout of the towns and cities 
  • My host family 
  • Buenos bars, Orangina, Madelienes 

Things I can’t wait for in the U.S.:

  • Chik-fil-a & chipotle
  • Air conditioning
  • Screens on windows 
  • English 
  • My closet 
  • Driving 
  • Using my phone while not on Wifi
  • One dollar bills instead of one and two euro coins 
  • My puppy 
  • Friends, family, etcetera

Can’t wait till we meet again Europe, it’s been real ✌🏼️

The End

Leave a Reply

